Are you ambi-craftual? Knitting loves crochet/crochet loves knitting

In her post today, Liz Kaplan has got us thinking about granny squares and the bridges (and barriers) between knitting and crochet.

I long to be a fiber arts switch-hitter, and went so far as to take a class on granny square basics, but crochet is definitely a foreign language to me. When I really want a particular crochet item (my Comme des Grannies wrap, for example), I turn to a crocheter and play Let’s Make a Deal.

Do you want to learn to crochet? Do you NOT want to learn to crochet? Is it just an issue of not having enough knitting time, so why even think of adding crochet into the mix?

These are my questions.

xo Kay

1 Like

My first fiber obsession was needlepoint and cross stitch. Then I graduated to crochet and finally knitting. I recently fell off the wagon ( ha what wagon) and bought a bag o yarn from Attic24 to crochet a granny square blanket to be started next year. I really think I fell for the colors.I’m drunk with color. And I need to sharpen my crochet hooks.

And of course I make quilts as well, and write poems and bad novels.
So I guess I am multi craftual.

6 Likes

I taught myself to crochet in the swinging sixties when I HAD to have the see through crochet bell sleeve mini dress in lurex yarn. Much prefer the fabric, process and all the variations that knitting gives. Having said that, I have just crocheted some small round facial scrubs repurposed from some Rowan cotton glace yarn. Best exfoliant!

2 Likes

When I was younger, I preferred crochet, I couldn’t keep tension knitting. After a very long hiatus from both, I much prefer knitting and can barely remember how to crochet. I guess I would like to be ambicraftual, but I’m mostly a knitter now.

1 Like