Please Introduce Yourself!

Welcome to The Lounge! We’re delighted you’re here, and we hope this will be a place you like to visit often. We’d love to hear more about you: here are three quick questions if you’re game for sharing a bit about yourself.

1. First thing you ever knitted.

2. Your favorite movie/food/color/kind of shoes.

3. Thing you would like to learn how to do.

Or anything else you’d like to share. We are particularly curious about your knitting adventures, obviously.

4 Likes

My name is Jean and I have been knitting for 12 years now. I taught myself to knit at age 50 from the “Stitch and Bitch” book because someone told me it was a good book to learn to knit from. My first project was a gray garter stitch scarf with a few purl rows which I still have and occasionally wear.

This summer I worked through Mary Jane Mucklestone’s colorwork cowl class on Craftsy and learnt two-handed colorwork knitting. I like to knit projects that will teach me things. Most of what I make are gifted to friends and family. I don’t mind mistakes and frogging, it’s part of the making process.

I also sew a bit, crochet, and have tried most other yarn and fiber crafts over the years. I really love to knit, however, and I really love the knitting community.

4 Likes

My name is Carolyn and my very first knit was mittens on two needles in Grade 9, in the 60’s. I could only knit left hand mitts, Mom knit the right one for me. In the past 8 years I have been knitting, felting and designing my own things. The pattern Kiki Mariko inspired me. I have made the pattern your way as a rug and as a purse that I call the Carpet Bag. I would love to share a picture with you.

4 Likes

Hi Jean! Stitch and Bitch is such a great book—it just sounded so fresh and different when it first came out. (Starting with the title, for one thing!)

And Mary Jane Mucklestone is a special teacher. I haven’t taken a Craftsy class, but I would bet that hers would be excellent.

So glad you’re here!