Recommendations for first cardigan?

I’ve made countless pairs of socks, baby blankets & a couple of shawls. However, I’ve never gotten up the courage to try a sweater. Can anyone recommend a cardigan that would be good for a beginner? Something basic? A pattern that would be a good starting place for someone like me?

Sandy

3 Likes

Cardigan is a pretty broad category. So many different types and styles. I loved knitting long Sands https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/long-sands-cardigan
There is a lighter weight version as well.

2 Likes

Remembering back to my first attempt at sweaters/cardigans, my local shop recommended the Knitting Pure & Simple patterns. I started the raglan “Summer Open Cardigan”, found it very readable, doable, and easy. I still wear that sweater now, 10 years later.

3 Likes

Good morning. Great time to start something new. I have been a teacher of knitting for a while, and two great first cardigans are:

1. Sixth Street by Amy Miller. It gets 5 stars on Ravelry and is not too high on the difficulty scale! Also adorable and wearable for lots of different types of bodies. Great gauge, moves right along. In one piece.
  2. Estuary by the Berroco team. It also gets high ratings. Easy gauge, great usable shape. You can use two colors (IF you want) and this one is made in pieces from the bottom up.

If you need help, am I allowed to give you my knitting email since I’ve worked with these patterns?

3 Likes

For my first sweater I chose Ramona by Elizabeth Smith, and I think it’s a great choice for a first cardigan. https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/ramona-cardigan. It’s a simple once piece, top down, and easy to fit and adjust the length as you go. It uses chunky yarn so knits up quickly, yet doesn’t feel bulky at all.

5 Likes

I recommend the February Bang Out choice of Main Squeeze. Another bulky yarn cardigan that was fun and easy to knit. It was my second ever sweater and I just got yarn in the mail to make another.

4 Likes