Moby-Dick Big Read, Chapters 1-5: Discussion

Warning! Spoiler alert for all these chapter discussion topics. Enter here knowing that the plot and characters will be discussed in detail.

I can’t believe I missed this. I just finished this book yesterday! I’m reading it for a class, though. :unamused:

2 Likes

YOU FINISHED? No spoilers lol. Congratulations!

I did!!! Just a couple of days ago!
The long digressions were a bit dull at times, but the main story (especially the ending!) was really exciting! I’m a grad student in 19th Century American literature, so I can’t believe this was the first time I’ve read it!

I just finished chapter 3. I’ve never read it before and it’s amazing.

I’m wondering as I’m listening to chapter 3 why he is making such a big who-ha over this guy Queequeg - he’s going to share a bed, not share a bed, sleep on the now-planed-but-still-has-a-knot-in-it bench/table - and where is this guy anyway - it’s midnight already and frankly who is buying shrunken heads at midnight (before the Sabbath too!) - so I’m guessing this character is going to be important because of all the build up.

I know the basic story (and recently saw the Ron Howard movie so know a bit more from that) but am trying to read this without cliff notes. I’m wanting to hear it all the way through as I would have in 1851 - (wikipedia-free!) and then go back and read all about the themes etc. I’m sure there is a free class on Moby Dick somewhere on youtube.

1 Like

I love the idea of going 1851 on this–I’ve been reading footnotes in a print edition as I’ve been listening so far, and maybe it would be good to go without them for a while.

Queequeg! The best!

I figure I have the rest of my life to read the notes on everything Moby Dick related - but only one shot to got through it 1851 style. (Although in fairness I had to google Queequeg for the spelling so I didn’t look like a dumbass while posting this!).