Provisional Cast On

It seems there are several ways to accomplish the provisional cast on. I’m wondering if one method is better than another for specific projects. One for lace, one for socks, etc. Or is it just personal preference?
Thanks everyone!

I’m not an expert at this, but I would say that if the pattern doesn’t specify a particular cast on, it would be personal preference.

2 Likes

I use an e-loop cast on with the waste yarn for short cast ons - and a crochet cast on if it’s longer. Unless of course, there’s another type recommended.

3 Likes

It is personal preference unless the pattern calls for something specific. It also depends on how you will be picking up those live stitches later.

For socks, I now use the Turkish cast on for my toe up socks. But that is my preference.

2 Likes

Ooooooo, Turkish cast on. Something else New to learn! Thank you.

holy cow, that was a new one to me. Thank you!

Ya’ll need Wendy D. Johnson’s (aka wendyknits) book Socks from the Toe Up…great explanations of toe cast-ons! Including Turkish.

2 Likes

I have hat book somewhere. Have to find it.

Or just YouTube it!

Agree re personal preference. I no longer ever use the one where you make a chitchat chain, instead I use the crochet hook to put the stitches directly on the needle.

For an easy “looser” cast-on I like German Twisted. I also like Judy’s magic cast-on. I’ve never done the 2-color Italian CO, but glanced at it in a book the other day & I think it may be similar to Judy’s. Please chime in if I’m way off base with that.

I am also a big fan of the tubular CO, esp for hats. There are a zillion COs to choose from.

2 Likes

Oh that tubular cast on! I bet I ripped and restarted 6 times the first and only time I did that! That one is going to take way more practice.

Definitely personal preference. I usually use the “pick up in the back loop of a crochet chain,” but that’s because it’s the easiest one for me to remember.