Travel project & other advice for beginner

I’d like to take a project with me on a trip to Utah I have planned and I’d like some advice on choosing one so that I can order the supplies now rather than wait until I learn more. I am a very patient beginner - and I really mean beginner, as in I can cast on, knit, and purl, but so far have only read about casting off. I have been going very slowly and have been focusing on trying various techniques with good mechanics. The guides that I have used or have queued up so far are: MDK of course!, Lorilee Beltman, Susan B. Anderson, Arne & Carlos, Andrea Wong (my Portuguese knitting pin just arrived), Patty Lyons, the MDK SkillSet app, and Carson Demers. Currently, I am using Lorilee Beltman’s technique to make a fingerless practice mitt pattern (using garter stitch, stockinette, and ribbing) by Susan B. Anderson. I will be casting off soon!

For my trip, I’d like to do a small project like a scarf, or a pet (cat) blanket, or washcloth, but I keep knocking my head against the wall with broken links and unavailable yarns (or limited colors and life is too short to knit in colors I don’t love!). For scarves, I want to avoid yarns that would be uncomfortable for me wear next to my body (wow, am I the only one?, there are an awful lot of animal fiber scarves and tee shirts out there!). I am not yet confident on substituting yarns. Is there a tidy guide somewhere to yarn substitutions for Field Guide patterns?

A bit about me:
Fibers: I haven’t found an animal fiber that doesn’t make me itch so, I’d love them for a cardigan but not for a scarf. I’ve enjoyed knitting with Quince & Co. Sparrow linen yarn in fingering weight but haven’t found many other linen yarns. Creative Linen yarn sounds intriguing for worsted weight projects but will it stretch or fade due to the cotton? Is there such a thing as DK or worsted weight linen?