Spinners...making yarn out of fluff

Hi! I detect the presence of other spinners…are you a spinner? Wheel? Spindle?

My main wheel is a Hansen and i also have a Rose. Many spindles, support spindles, many pounds of fluff. I’m working on a SQ of Jacob at the moment, three plied with some dyed BFL as the third ply.

4 Likes

I would like to call myself a spinner, but have so many knitting wips, I can’t seem to find time. Perhaps this thread will help motivate me. I have angora bunnies and a mesh laundry bag full of zip lock baggies of fluff, oh my. I have a Kromski that sits in the travel bag. Retirement was supposed to give me time to do my hobbies, but am busier than ever.

Me! Mee!

I have a spindle (or like, four) right now. I’m a poor starving college student, so I don;t have the money for a lot of fine tools, but I do enjoy the ones I have. I am crossing my fingers so hard that my dearest will make me a wheel for christmas, but my hopes aren’t extraordinarily high. If he doesn’t, I may just go ahead and do it myself… :wink:

So nice to meet you, rawedges. I’m Katie ^^

1 Like

I hope you get your wish :blush:

1 Like

I have four or five spindles, but mostly I like to spin yarn on my Ashford Traveller. I’m so intrigued by the Rose, though!

I just finished knitting a sweater with corriedale I spun last year.

Now I’m spinning and knitting at the same time another sweater with an alpaca/shetland blend.

5 Likes

Did you see they already created a thread for spinners??? (“The handspinning corner” or whatever it is)

Just thought I would mention it so we don’t have two similar threads going at the same time. :slight_smile:

I hope you get your Christmas wish! I got my wheel used at a fiber festival. And depending on how active the fiber artists in your area are, the classifieds could also be a fantastic resource. Bonus: buying a wheel from a spinner means you can beg for an in-person lesson on how the wheel is different from a spindle. :wink:

1 Like