Stepping Stone Throw

Erika Knight’s design is a joyride in modular knitting—adding new squares in a cool way.

Share your progress, ask a question, see what everybody’s doing with Erika Knight’s design from Field Guide No. 20: Atlas.

The knitalong for this begins March 18. Details here: Get Ready! Let's All Knit Erika Knight - Modern Daily Knitting.

For the pattern, the yarn, and all things Erika, visit the Field Guide No. 20 One-Stop Shop.

2 Likes

This is my first time doing entrelac and I’m not experienced in picking up stitches, so I like the tip in the pattern that suggests slip stitching purl wise the first stitch of the row. Does this apply to every row in the pattern?
Thanks,
Linda

1 Like

I just thought of a problem with using slip stitches for the first stitch (see my first question above). What happens when you change colors, and you’re supposed to knit the first stitch with one strand each of the old color and new color held together? How is this done with slip stitches?
Thanks,
Linda

Entrelac is definitely a “you had to be there” situation. When you cast on and see how the first row of base triangles looks, you’ll understand the instructions. It’s up there with the great knitterly aha moments.

You’re slipping the first stitch of the “unattached” edges of each triangle and rectangle so that when you turn the blanket to knit the next row of patches you’ve got a neat edge of stitches from which to pick up stitches.

You’re only knitting the very first stitch of each new row of patches with the two yarns held together, not each patch because (except when you get to the striped patches) you’re only knitting one color at a time. Cast on and see!

3 Likes

Two somewhat odd questions. 1. I don’t have a 40-inch circular–can it fit on a 32-inch circular or is that just too small? (I also have a 60-inch cable, but I only have size six tips, for that one since its a different brand from my fully interchangeable set).