Yarn Sub Needed for Old Pattern

Hi,

I’m new to the community and thinking about trying a sleeveless sweater as a first major shaped project. I’ve been knitting off and on for just under 10 years and mostly worked on hats, scarves, slippers, fingerless mitts, and flat lace.

I was searching for a fitted sleeveless sweater and found Country Club Pullover Pattern #1152 on Free Vintage Knitting. I really like the style and the size is even pretty close, but none of the recommended yarns: Clark’s O.N.T. Mercerized Crochet, J. & P. Coats Mercerized Crochet, J. & P. Coats Big Ball Best Six Cord Mercerized Crochet, are available any more. It looks like they’re mostly #10 crochet thread and while I could easily enough find another cotton #10 crochet thread, I’ve been drooling over some silk-blend 20/2 yarn/thread.

Can anyone help me understand the difference between #10 crochet thread and 20/2 weaving yarn/thread? I read the articles here on grist and I tried searching for a conversion formula between crochet thread weights and 20/2 threads to no avail.

I hope someone can either help me figure out if this is a reasonable substitution or help me find another another similar pattern using modern yarns.

Thanks!

A search of 20/2 silk yielded cones of weaving yarn, I saw 100% silk, linen, and cotton (no blends) on Webs. I would think that a specialty weaving company might offer this weight in other varieties.
Good luck!

Thank you for taking the time to look around. I goofed a little in my original post- I mentioned 20/2 thread and silk blend. I had just been looking at 20/2 silk thread and Valley Yarns 2/14 Alpaca/Silk and got them confused. I also just found this master yarn chart Master Yarn Chart | Handwoven

From the chart:
Does 3-ply #10 crochet cotton; 3,050 yd/lb;
20/2 spun silk; 5,000 yd/lb;
20/2 silk; 4,900 yd/lb
14/2 alpaca/silk (80% alpaca, 20% silk) 3,472 yd/lb, make sense?