day tripper cardigan

I need some help starting the pattern after shaping the back neck. I don’t know how to increase the stitches to 181. I’m new to this kind of knitting so would really appreciate the help.

Thanks
Elizabeth

1 Like

As you work the 25 rounds of the color chart you will increase on round 5, 9, 16 and 19 which will ultimately result in the 181 stitches.

1 Like

Dear nellknits,

Thanks so much for taking the time to educate me. This is my first Icelandic sweater and I’m a little nervous. I am assuming that at every 12 st. repeat I increase two stitches on rows 5,9,16 and 19. Also, my understanding from a previous helper in the Lounge is that I should ignore the black squares that signify “no stitich” in the pattern.

Thanks,
Elizabeth

3 Likes

Hi Elizabeth, if you look on the graph of the color chart on page 42, you can see where to place the increases. The loopy looking symbol is for ‘make one left.’ Also called M1L. These increases happen on each occurrence of the pattern repeat. One thing I do is to make a larger copy of the pattern and mark up the page so I can see what I am doing better. It also helps me keep track. So I might make an arrow pointing to each increase row and circle :o: the increase stitches. Once you do this a couple of times it will be more understandable.
Another thing you might do is make a swatch of the pattern so you get the swing of it first. Save it so you can re use the yarn because you probably will need it!
Ps when you look at the chart and see where the increase symbols are, you will notice that they are always in the background color so that the actual ‘mountains’ pattern doesn’t get changed. Please keep asking questions!

6 Likes

Dear Martha,